Runner 5

Oh, yes, it’s so much easier to run faster for longer when you know that the zombies are chasing you!

As an incentive to get back into the running habit again I downloaded the Zombies Run! app.  And it worked!  I went out and ran.  The app tells you a story about a post apocalyptic zombie overrun world.  Your helicopter crashes on the way to a secure little town and you have to run to it from the crash site.  In the town the radio operator can see where the zombies are and directs you to run faster every time they look like they are going to catch you.  The town’s doctor asks you to go via a disused hospital and pick up supplies.  It’s a very well done story and I definitely kept running just to see how it was going to end.  The only trouble was I got distracted by a crowd of zombies in the car park of the hospital and took two real life wrong turns and ran in completely the wrong direction.

I don’t know if the novelty will wear off quickly.  I want to go for a nice steady run next so I won’t be using the app again for a couple of days at least.  But I am looking forward to hearing the rest of the story.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Runner 5

    • The website for the app says it does work for walking. I assume, though I have no real clue (no change there then), that it measures your relative speed so that when it says the zombies are chasing you then it is looking for an increase in speed rather than any actual speed.

      Honestly, the story was so engaging that I would have been happy if it was just a prompt to run faster every now and again and didn’t actually measure my speed. That said, the internet tells me that if the zombies catch up with you then you drop supplies and without supplies you can’t watch your little village grow! I may have bought into it a little too much!

Leave a Reply

