Triumph and Qualms: Juneathon – Day 6

Ah, such a strange day it turned out to be.

My home scales reaffirmed what I already knew – that eating nonstop for a week had caused me to put on a few pounds.  No surprise there at all.

Then, not despondent but not exactly up beat either, I went for my Wednesday 5k.  I have been trying to work on my speed because, dear god, I could not get any slower.  Yesterday I tried to run a bit faster than usual for just over a mile and it was hard, hard, hard.  But doable.  Today I thought I would set out at that pace and see how far I could get.  It turns out I could manage the whole 5km at that pace (7:25 min/km).  Hurrah!  I was deliriously happy.  That’s the fastest 5km I’ve ever run.

And so I went to the Wednesday weigh in with a happy heart.  Oh yes, the scales wouldn’t have good news for me but what the hell.  I can run 5km in under 40 minutes!  But the scales turned up a two pound loss!  How can that be?  Seriously now, that makes no sense at all.  Unless the secret to weight loss is huge slabs of malteser cake?  Seems unlikely.  A couple of the other people at the meeting had similar unexpected losses.  We wondered if the scales were wacky and next week it will come back to bite us when we all weigh heavier than we expected.

Still, don’t look a gift horse in the mouth.  I shall take this as a welcome reprieve and grin like a loon because of the 5k time.

  • Distance: 5.11 km
  • Time: 37:55
  • Avg Pace: 7:25 min/km
  • Total Number of Streets: 643
  • Streets Completed: 37
  • Streets Left: 606
  • Percentage Completed: 5.75
2 thoughts on “Triumph and Qualms: Juneathon – Day 6

Leave a Reply

