80%

Perhaps the eighty percent rule does work.  It claims that if you eat healthy food 80% of the time then you can have what you like the rest of the time.  I haven’t been tracking very well or indeed eating very well this week as my mum is visiting and I like to treat her to nice things.  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

But I have been trying quite hard to only indulge when we are somewhere nice.  So perhaps we may have had a bun while we were in town and maybe a glass or two of wine when we went out for our dinner but the other, hanging round the house meals, have been fairly reasonable.  My tactic has been to make soup for lunch and to make sure that whatever is served for dinner comes with a huge stack of vegetables.  Also, meals have to be planned, I’ve found, otherwise they magically turn into takeaway curry.

And it seems to have worked.  I didn’t get weighed last week so I was very nervous this week.  But, phew, 4.5 pounds down.  I am very happy with that.  Though I think I will try to be a bit more rigorous with the tracking anyway.  Already today I have had the remains of a packet of lucozade jelly beans (left over from the days when I could run for more than 5 kilometers) and a Nakd Choc and Orange bar (delicious!).

One thought on “80%

Leave a Reply

