The Breakfast Habit – Days 5, 6 and 7

Yeah, there might be something in this breakfast malarky.

On days 5 and 6 I had a good sensible breakfast.  Porridge and cherries.  Easiest breakfast ever.  I cook the oats and water with some salt and cinnamon in the microwave for three minutes.  Then I add a handful of frozen cherries and zap in the microwave for another couple of minutes until the cherries are warm.  Yummy.

On day 7 I was in a mad hurrah and just had a crumpet and marmite for breakfast.  And then ate my way through a packet of Bakewell Tarts, chocolate and every unhealthy thing I could find in the house.   Co-incidence?  I’m really not sure but I’ll be looking out for that sort of thing happening again.

I think I will have another week concentrating on breakfast before moving on to the next habit.  It has such an impact on the rest of the day that I want to get the habit well ingrained.

2 thoughts on “The Breakfast Habit – Days 5, 6 and 7

  1. No, it’s not a coincidence. Eating “simple” carbohydrates leaves you wanting more, they don’t satisfy, they could be called addictive. Eating complex carbohydrates like porridge is totally different. They don’t give you a sugar spike, with a sudden crash that leaves you with that “must eat everything around me” desire. That sounds like an extremely useful strategy, to concentrate on lifestyle habits, such as eating a decent breakfast every day. It has been said that it takes 21 days to ingrain any new habit.

    • 21 days? It seems like such a long time. But if you look at the long game it’s less than a month. But it really has been making a difference so I plan to stick it out. It’ll be interesting to see when it becomes automatic though I suppose I won’t notice when precisely it does.

Leave a Reply

